Author Topic: I plan to buy a VTSAX, what happens next?  (Read 4280 times)

fizzgig

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I plan to buy a VTSAX, what happens next?
« on: August 11, 2014, 01:43:39 PM »
I'm just starting to learn about investing after having known absolutely nothing about it. I've seen some convincing cases made for using a VTSAX to build wealth. What I don't understand is, what does one do after that? I don't mean asset allocation in the future. I mean, what happens after that? This would be a long-term plan. Do I just let the money sit there like a savings account? There are fees to pay, also, right? I can add money to the fund, too? I just want to know what to expect, and what I am expected to do after a purchase.

Philociraptor

• Handlebar Stache
  • Eat. Sleep. Invest. Repeat.
Re: I plan to buy a VTSAX, what happens next?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 01:51:40 PM »
You sit around and relax. Fees are paid out of what you put in, you don't pay them separately.

How much are you buying?
What type of account are you buying in?

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 01:55:38 PM »
You cancel physical statements and make everything online statements. This gets rid of the $20 annual fee.

Then it just sits there and collects dividends and such. And you feel secure knowing you're paying some of the lowest fees on the market.

gimp

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 02:05:03 PM »
Here's how it works.

You create an account on vanguard. You pick that you want that account to do mutual funds, no brokerage. You choose VTSMX/VTSAX (3k for vtsmx, 10k for vtsax). You supply bank information. Make sure to select e-paper statements to save $20/year. You're done for now.