Author Topic: I drive 80 miles for work every day, and need a car  (Read 4214 times)

Ani

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I drive 80 miles for work every day, and need a car
« on: July 19, 2018, 02:55:44 PM »
The husband is in the military and his base is about 60 miles from the nearest city. I am an accountant and could not find work in the small town we currently live in, so I commute to the nearest city. The husband commutes about 20 miles round trip to get to work while I commute 80 miles round trip (we live off-base). I own a 2014 Ford Focus with 88,000 miles. I owe about $9,000 on it. Unfortunately, it is worth $5,000-$7,000 according to Kelly Blue Book. I get about 35 MPG. 80% of my daily drive is on a highway. I spend about $160 a month on gas just for work ($8/day). I am trying to reduce our expenses and live a more MMM lifestyle. My question to the fellow MMM community: should I sell this car and get a more fuel efficient vehicle like a Prius? The Ford is not worth the amount I owe on it so I am very hesitant to part with it because of the cash I'll have to put in to pay it off. I do have about $15,000 cash so I can afford to buy a used Prius in cash. I do not have children, so I don't care about the interior size of a vehicle or any fancy accessories. I just need the vehicle to get me to and from work. The husband has 2 years left in his contract, so I expect I will be making this drive for at least two more years. I actively look for job openings closer to my home at least twice a month but so far no luck.
Please provide advice on what you would do in such a situation.
In case it matters... we live in Southeast GA and I commute to Florida.

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I drive 80 miles for work every day, and need a car
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2018, 03:06:34 PM »
Ballpark, the Prius might save you $50 a month. That doesn't cover much in the ways of transaction fees (sales tax, etc) and hassles.