Author Topic: How to deal with overly-moustachian time-wasting customers?  (Read 4451 times)

crackerjack

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to deal with overly-moustachian time-wasting customers?
« on: September 21, 2018, 07:32:23 AM »
Hi all, first time poster here but a long time moustachian.  I've always been a saver and completely understand people's desire to keep costs down but feel like there's a line between being moustachian and taking advantage of other people, which sadly some people step over time and time again.  My current dilemma is how to deal with those people (tactfully!). 

Some background:  I have a hardware shop in a small town.  As a small business owner I always have a To Do list literally as long as my arm and it's usually just me in the shop, so time is money.  I've increasingly noticed lately that people are buying their big-ticket items on the internet and coming to my shop when they have problems, expecting us to help them for free in the name of customer service.  They might buy a couple of small items or an infrequent larger purchase, so I don't want to annoy them and just refuse to help. 

For example, they might buy a radio somewhere else and come into us for batteries for it and then ask us if we could just put the batteries in for them.  Then, of course, it escalates and they ask us to show them how to use it, and then if we can preset their favourite stations for them and oh, can I just go through the tuning again, and set the clock, etc etc, and suddenly I've spent 30 minutes giving them an in-depth customised tutorial on a product I haven't even sold.  Or they ask us to draw a diagram of how to wire something up so they don't have to book a home visit - essentially asking us to tell them how to do our job for free so they don't have to pay us.