Author Topic: How do you deal with privilege?  (Read 9353 times)

whybe

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How do you deal with privilege?
« on: August 19, 2015, 06:52:07 AM »
Hi all

for most of my conscious life, I  have been purposely oblivious (i.e blocked out) to the fact that my father's side of the family (divorced parents) is quite well off, financially. I have sculpted my personality and behavior around the belief that I don't have the money; my father has it and he can decide he wants to give it to me or not. probably because I was also living with my mother (joint custody, lived in the same town for most of my and my brothers' childhood), who was not left with a lot after the marriage, that living in debt was "ok" and that she doesn't have money, therefore I don't. I haven't been the best at making it over the years, but ever since my father and I agreed he would stop backing me up financially (after i got my degree in 2009), I have been ill at ease with the way I have been looking at and managing my money, mainly because of my own ineptitude and because it seemed to slip through my fingers. I have been living over my means for a time, had to dip into my savings to get myself out of overdraft. since then i have gotten a bit smarter about my finances but still had this nagging feeling i was living too large, since I couldn't stay afloat. don't know if I actually was, since there hadn't been any over the top expenses at those times, rent was a low percentage of my income, i was single but i didn't go out so much, didn't spend the  money on clothes, or tools or travel or much other than a few music shows a year, psychological therapy and car gas / maintenance. but something was definitely broken - i was in the red zone and couldn't figure out why, which also strengthened my feelings of "have-not". then came a few revelations - a course I had taken, MMM's blog and a few others - that showed me I could do much to help myself and that not all is lost.