Author Topic: How am I doing?  (Read 6125 times)

fordhamchris

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How am I doing?
« on: November 09, 2012, 06:39:50 AM »
Hi Everyone!  I am new to MMM and the world of mustachism, and I would love to hear from the Pro's on my current situation and how to better it:

1)  No debt (paid off student loans, condo worth about 200k, all cars paid off, etc)
2) Vanguard account recently opened (10k to VFIAX, 10k to VTSAX, 8k in Roth IRA w/ target retirement 2045)
3) about 45k in American Funds retirement account (no matching, through work though)
4) I drive an 08 hyundai sonata and she drives an '11 hyundai SUV (I know- way before I found the blog- they are paid off)

So about 70k or so in investments with no debt and paid off condo.

I am a software salesman making about 200k per/yr (I am almost certain this job will go away soon- very small company who will likely get purchased).  My wife is a nurse making about 65k/yr

We live in CT (high taxes). 

My bills include:

305/month Condo Fees
500/month taxes (CT is highly taxed)
100 gas/electric
300 cable/cell phones (for both of us)
450 gas between the both of us (we both work very far apart but live in the middle- we are both about 50 miles RT to work making biking difficult)
120 or so for insurance

These are fixed costs...

Any opportunities for savings?  Also, as Vanguard continues to grow (I try to throw my commission checks in there) what are some better investments?

Any help appreciated!

Phoebe

• Stubble
    • Phoebe's Journey
Re: How am I doing?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 06:52:36 AM »
What jumps out at me as low hanging fruit is your cable/cell phone bill.  MMM wrote an article about how to cut your cell phone costs, and then just turn off cable!  You should be able to save AT LEAST $200/month if not more.  That's $2400 a year!!

Phoebe

• Stubble
    • Phoebe's Journey
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 06:53:33 AM »