Author Topic: High Paying Job, Expensive Area: Does it ever make sense?  (Read 5915 times)

CaliforneyWay

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
High Paying Job, Expensive Area: Does it ever make sense?
« on: July 16, 2017, 09:35:23 AM »
Hi folks,

Background: I'm an experienced web developer with a wife and infant daughter, and we try to be Mustachian where we can.  We currently live in a Cleveland suburb, where we own a decent home.

I recently saw an ad for Triplebyte show up in my Facebook feed, and on a whim I clicked through and did their test.  Triplebyte is a tech recruiter startup that does background-blind testing and interviewing to find development talent that might otherwise be overlooked, and fast tracks that talent to final interviews at their client companies (which now include Apple, Facebook, Reddit, and Stripe, among others, as well as smaller startups).

I was a bit surprised that I passed their test and was eligible to skip the phone screen and go right to their final interview.

This is pretty cool, but AFAIK all of their clients are in either San Francisco (they were previously exclusive to Y Combinator, a startup incubator out there) or New York City.  It's a bit early to be thinking of this now, but if I do well enough on the Triplebyte interview, they will start setting me up to fly out and interview with companies in one of those two places.