Author Topic: Help with Traditional to Roth Conversions  (Read 1764 times)

tennisray

• Stubble
Help with Traditional to Roth Conversions
« on: January 16, 2020, 07:23:28 AM »
My wife (44 yo) and I (45yo) are still working full-time.  We are planning for her to RE in the next few years.  I'd like to plan converting her traditional 401(k) to Roth while I continue to work.  I work in a school system, so I have access to a 457 and 403(b), which I max out.  Here are the #'s:
Salary= 90k My wife has RMD from a beneficiary IRA of about $6000/year.  Dividends/interest=$10000/year;
Deductions: $39k for 457/403b; $4800 health/dental/fsa ins; $5400 pension contribution=$48000 AGI. 

Help with plan:
1. Convert wife 401k to IRA at Vanguard
2. With my #'s, how much should/can I convert yearly to stay in the 12% tax bracket?

Edited to add that we have enough savings that I will keep the same deductions when wife RE's and pull any $ we need from savings.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2020, 07:45:22 AM by tennisray »

zolotiyeruki

• Walrus Stache
Re: Help with Traditional to Roth Conversions
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2020, 08:00:27 AM »
It seems to me that you'd want to wait until after she RE's, and you have lower income, before you start the conversion, in order to reduce your tax burden.  Or are you working to set up a Roth ladder of some sort?

DadJokes

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2020, 08:02:38 AM »
Is the IRA that she gets $6k from annually Roth or traditional?

Assuming that it is traditional, I'm only coming up with $46,800 that is subject to ordinary income taxes (dividends are taxed separately).

Income: $90,000
RMDs: 6,000
Less:
457/403b: (39,000)
Insurance: (4,800)
Pension: (5,400)
Total: $46,800

2020 Std deduction: $24,800
Subject to ordinary tax: $22,000