Author Topic: Help me find a new career  (Read 3954 times)

LonerMatt

• Handlebar Stache
Help me find a new career
« on: April 19, 2018, 09:34:28 PM »
Hello everyone!

Let's cut a long story short - I'm a High School teacher, and this is my 7th year of being one. For a few reasons I'm sick of my job and don't want to do it any more. At the end of this year (Christmas) I'm quitting and taking some time off.

What I need help with is working out what I could do next.

I've always been a teacher, most of my friends are teachers (or are still in the first jobs they landed after uni) so I don't have much perspective on other fields, what I could transition into or what might be an up/down grade. So I'm asking everyone and anyone who has advice, opinions, hot takes or controversial comments to chime in.

I am happy to try almost anything - I always try to find ways to enjoy, learn and experience things differently, so I tend to be pretty happy as long as I'm working on something (sitting bored is awful). Which is exactly why I'm asking for help - there are so many options.

What I like and am good at doing:
- Working with larger groups of people
- Working with a longer term professional relationship
- Writing/Speaking - communication skills
- Trying new tasks
- Proposing, implementing and evaluating programs, changes, solutions
- Working in teams on just about anything (I've done everything from team work around disability services, curriculum writing, planning teacher training, etc, etc, etc, always a small team)
- Being generally competent at basic stuff like emails, organisation, efficiency, asking questions, not being a noob, etc
- Mentoring/Coaching

Things I'm bad at:
- Repetitive tasks requiring a high level of attention to detail and/or methodical thinking
- Working for people I don't trust
- Work that stays with me when I go home (affects sleep and mood too much)
- Blood and guts
- Faking it

Other random information