Author Topic: ENGINEERS - Why Does It Seem Like a Lot Don't Like Their Job?  (Read 9134 times)

joestash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: ENGINEERS - Why Does It Seem Like a Lot Don't Like Their Job?
« Reply #50 on: August 09, 2018, 01:20:21 PM »
If you ask my dad, it's because they're always the smartest person in the room and that's exhausting.  :)

-FreshPops, Electrical Engineer since 1979

I was trying to find a nice way to say this and here it is.  But this ^^
Especially when everyone else in the room is above you on the corporate ladder.

If these engineers were so smart you’d think they would be able to find a job they liked.  There are plenty of examples of engineers who like there jobs.  Complaining about your job without doing anything about it is neither smart nor unique to this field.

P.s.  I have a CS degree and I was a very successful software engineer for 7 years. 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

freeat57

• Stubble
« Reply #51 on: August 09, 2018, 02:17:25 PM »
O yea, and "your doing a great job, keep up the good work, here's a 3% raise"...WTF, I just saved this company over $500k and nearly killed myself working tons of hours to meet deadlines that weren't realistic to begin with...I feel really appreciated...
I think this sums it up pretty well

I also like the "thanks for the patent you produced in addition to and on top of your normal responsibilities, we made a quick couple million off it, here's $500 to show you how much we appreciate you...

Everything on this thread sounds familiar to me.  I'm not an engineer, rather a research chemist (happily FIREd).  Our IP attorneys gave us a one dollar bill for each patent.  I have a stack of them as a memento of my contributions to the megacorp.

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #52 on: August 09, 2018, 02:26:33 PM »