Author Topic: Engineers: Is PMP certification worth it?  (Read 56656 times)

BuffaloStache

• Handlebar Stache
Engineers: Is PMP certification worth it?
« on: February 06, 2017, 10:42:15 PM »
Some Background:
I'm an engineer at a firm that offers the Project Management Professional (PMP) certification courses for free, and will even pay for the cost of the exam (well, reimburse once you can prove that you've passed). The courses are in the evenings, 3 hours each x twice a week for two months. Unfortunately, it seems that the company has absolutely no respect for the certification at all- there are no associated raises or promotions for employees who have the certification, and it doesn't even seem like they try to move PMP certified engineers into roles that will more effectively utilize their skills.  However, if I were to ever leave the company (and I've already contemplated it before and will likely consider it again after some major corporate changes pan out), I get the feeling that this certification may be a nice thing to have on my resume and help me land a better job- but I'm not actually sure that this is true. I would like to move into a more project-management oriented role in the future, as those jobs seem to have technical insight (cool factor) but be somewhat lower stress than my current design/production engineering job.

More on the PMP Cert:
https://www.pmi.org/certifications/types/project-management-pmp

The Question:
If you were me, would you put in the hard work and try to get the certification? Are there any engineers out there who have this certification? Would you say it's worth it and/or helped your career at all?

respond2u

• Stubble
Re: Engineers: Is PMP certification worth it?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 12:04:56 AM »