Author Topic: Employabilty of self-taught software engineers/programmers?  (Read 16268 times)

Aloysius_Poutine

• Stubble
Employabilty of self-taught software engineers/programmers?
« on: October 16, 2012, 10:00:37 AM »
For those of you in this field: do you know anyone who has a degree in an unrelated field, and makes a (good) living coding?

I have always been interested in coding, but did a useless degree in social science instead. Now I need some real life skills. There are great resources online. Is the programming field a meritocracy--can I prove myself on my own and get employed-- or is one out of luck without a CS degree?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2012, 10:08:06 AM by MarkCB »

gdborton

• Bristles
Re: Employabilty of self-taught software engineers/programmers?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2012, 10:20:30 AM »
While I was in school I knew a couple of guys that made some money doing freelance websites for people/small business.  What sort of programming are you thinking about?  Best practices are easier to learn/showcase in web development, and a good portfolio could go a long way to impress an employer.

rjack

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • I'm retired!
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2012, 10:21:50 AM »
I know 2 guys that make an excellent living as programmers that don't have college degrees. They are completely self-taught. They are both in their early fifties and they started programming in their twenties, so I don't know if this is a realistic option now.

Aloysius_Poutine

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2012, 10:28:05 AM »
While I was in school I knew a couple of guys that made some money doing freelance websites for people/small business.  What sort of programming are you thinking about?  Best practices are easier to learn/showcase in web development, and a good portfolio could go a long way to impress an employer.