Author Topic: Don't know if I can stay until the end of my notice.  (Read 13324 times)

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
Re: Don't know if I can stay until the end of my notice.
« Reply #50 on: April 20, 2018, 03:25:47 PM »
OP, I'm a pet owner. The pic is Sibley. She'll be 19 this summer. Isn't she cute? Point is, I've got 19 years of vet clinic experience.

Here's my ideal wish list in a vet clinic, in no particular order:
1. Convenient hours. Please, close a day during the week and be open on Saturday or something if you need to.
2. Good vets who care about the animals
3. Good staff who care about the animals
4. Good admin who care about the animals
5. Reasonable distance from my home
6. Reasonable prices (ie, fair, not overpriced, not underpriced)

Implicit in 2-4 is the expectation that these are decent people who treat each other, and clients, with compassion and competence. Your clinic isn't doing that.

I HAVE been rescheduled, sometimes on very short notice, because a clinic was massively too busy. I HAVE sat in the waiting room while they treated a critical animal who came in with little to no notice. I HAVE called the vet and said I'm bringing the cat in NOW because of ______. And they've taken said cat and treated her promptly, because she needed to be treated urgently. (Notice the element of triage. Sometimes, someone is sicker and they get bumped to the top)

In each of the 3 vet clinics that I've been at long term, they met all these things. They were clearly decent people who loved animals, got along decently, and did their best. Was everything perfect? I'm sure not. But it was decent.

I hope this helps reset your normal meter. Good luck finding such a vet clinic to practice at.

fuzzy math

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: April 20, 2018, 04:36:00 PM »