Author Topic: Check my math on Solo 401K?  (Read 3499 times)

Credaholic

• Stubble
    • Credaholic
Check my math on Solo 401K?
« on: October 16, 2014, 08:30:11 AM »
I'm getting ready to fund a self-employed 401K. I just want to check my math and my understanding of the tax affect. I'm a self-employed contractor (so sole-proprietor, no corporation.) I'm using $100,000 net earnings as an example to keep things easy.

$100,000 x .153 x .9235 = $14,129.55 self employment tax
20% of net earnings – ½ self employment tax = $18,587.05 profit share maximum

So now on my Schedule C, the $18,587.05 would be entered on line 19 (pension and profit-sharing plans) right? Which would then bring the net profit down to $81,412.95. So now the self employment tax is $11,503.28.

Hope I'm understanding that correctly so far!

So now, on the 1040 side, the business income is $81,412.95. If I also contribute the $17,500 of employee contributions then that is entered on line 28 of the 1040, bringing my adjusted gross income to $63,912.95.

If I'm looking at taxes correctly, it means I should first contribute to the profit sharing side, and then to the employee side? (This complicates things a little since I'm not 100% sure I'll be able to max out both sides and I know I have to do employee contributions by Dec. 31st but then have extra time for the profit sharing.)

I'm also realizing that there would be a lot of tax savings if I set myself up as an S-Corp. Can anyone explain to me how the profit sharing side works when you're paying yourself a salary from an S-Corp?

MooseOutFront

• Pencil Stache
Re: Check my math on Solo 401K?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2014, 08:44:52 AM »
I think the employee and employer contributions are added together and entered on line 28 of the 1040.  No effect on Schedule C.  Others here probably know better but that was the result of my relatively recent research into this.