Author Topic: Case Study: Can I FIRE before I'm 40?  (Read 3291 times)

growingstaches

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study: Can I FIRE before I'm 40?
« on: January 29, 2014, 09:59:02 PM »
I am a 35 year old engineer that has worked in cubicles all my life.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2014, 12:31:32 PM by growingstaches »

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Case Study: Can I FIRE before I'm 40?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 10:35:49 PM »
I don't see life insurance for you and your wife or disability insurance for you.  You need to add that to the mix.  Once your wife has a higher income, disability insurance for her, too.
I assume health insurance is covered by your employer.

What's your take home pay?

Are you maxing out your 401k or IRA accounts?   

Are you wanting to go the rental property route or the stock market route to FI?

kkbmustang

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 10:36:13 PM »
What about medical/health expenditures, car maintenance, clothes, gifts, household supplies, eating out, vacation, etc.? I don't think you've truly captured all of your expenses here. Try using mint.com or some other tool to really capture your spending.

Also, I'm not a rental property expert, but you are barely cash flow positive on the property, much less allowing for vacancies, expenses for repairs, etc.

You have a nice positive net worth but a lot of it is wrapped up in your primary residence. Will you be moving once you retire or do you want to stay in your house?

Jappe

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2014, 02:55:33 AM »
First thing that I noticed is that your interest rates on your mortgages are rather high (I don't know the rates in the US but 5.375 seems rather high). Especially on your rental you hardly make any profit cause you pay 5%+. I did a quick calculation and if I did it correctly it means you took out a loan of roughly 160k$ for that house. Selling for 124k would mean a rather big loss now so I don't know if it's worth it honestly.