Author Topic: Canadian RRSP Over-contributions! Anyone have experience?  (Read 2709 times)

Self-employed-swami

• Handlebar Stache
Canadian RRSP Over-contributions! Anyone have experience?
« on: March 18, 2015, 08:01:36 AM »
Apparently, I've been over-contributing to my RRSP for about 5 years (the problem started in 2010 tax year, when I made an over-contribution and my previous accountant didn't fill out a form correctly to generate the contribution room).  My current accountant is going to try and go back and amend the returns (which will cost me $$$) or I can take the extra ~$6,000 out (I am $8,000 over the allowable amount), and pay all the penalties (to the tune of 1% of the amount over $2,000 per month, for the last 5 years) unless the CRA is feeling generous, and decides to wave the penalties.  :/

So, I'm wondering if anyone has experience with RRSP over-contrbutions, and CRA being lenient with the penalties, when you take the extra out...

The problems of savers....

I think the way the CRA online login words these things, is terrible, as it doesn't say over-contribution, just that you have some unused deductions to carry forward to the next year, which sounds like a good thing, right??

Bah! No wonder everyone hates the CRA!

Retire-Canada

• Walrus Stache
Re: Canadian RRSP Over-contributions! Anyone have experience?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 08:50:49 AM »
The GF had similar problems and I am sad to say it was a long and expensive process to finally get her RRSP back on track. CRA had no sympathy for her.

Both her accountant and her financial advisor screwed up.

I don't know what the best plan of attack is for you. Sorry.

-- Vik

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 08:55:08 AM »
Buy a house!  Then you can take money out of your RRSPs and you get a HBP repayment plan.  Overcontributions can be claimed as early repayment of the HBP.

beee

• Stubble
    • HoneyMoney.io

Self-employed-swami

• Handlebar Stache