Author Topic: Can"EH"dian Tax - You have questions, I have answers  (Read 254005 times)

CPA CB

• Stubble
Can"EH"dian Tax - You have questions, I have answers
« on: October 15, 2014, 03:12:10 PM »
Hey MMM'ers

I'm a Canadian Chartered Accountant with a significant amount of tax experience.

Just throwing this out there - this is the time to reassess your taxes and get questions answered. The holidays is far too late for appropriate tax planning.

If you have questions about Can"eh"dian taxes - I would be more than happy to offer the MMM discount of free advice. I hope this can serve as a reference point for future discussions for those of us who choose to live in Igloo's and drink Maple Syrup, as the tax discussions in the forum tend to revolve around our Southern NeighBOURS.

You ask - I'll do my best to answer based on what you provide.

Let the boring tax discussion begin!

Guses

• Pencil Stache
Re: Can"EH"dian Tax - You have questions, I have answers
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 03:41:11 PM »
I have a tough one for you:

What is the best province/territory to live in  in order to pay as little taxes as possible.

You may assume the following:
2 adults and 1-2 kids
Around 40,000$ income (your choice of capital gain, eligible dividend, RESP withdrawal, pension income)

Follow up question: Is it possible to pay 0$ taxes (you can adjust the source of income)?

TrMama

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2014, 05:19:41 PM »
I am a Canadian employed by the Canadian branch of a US company. I participated in their ESPP and now hold several thousand US dollars worth of their stock. There were several purchases made at different price points at quarterly intervals. I will make a profit on the stock.

How do I calculate the amount of tax owed when I sell it and how can I minimize my tax bill beyond dumping all the money into my RSP?

CPA CB

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2014, 06:08:03 PM »
Hi Guses,

Interesting question -