Author Topic: Blogging: How did you start?  (Read 2231 times)

deek

• Bristles
Blogging: How did you start?
« on: December 22, 2018, 07:41:56 PM »
I have a blog idea that I feel people would be able to relate to, and hits two different niches. For those here who have a blog, how has it benefited you? Have you made any new connections with people/businesses as a result? Did you have a plan when you started? I'm a content professional and would enjoy writing things outside of work and forming a little community if I was able to get this blog idea off the ground. Any tips??

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache
    • Syonyk's Project Blog
Re: Blogging: How did you start?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 08:07:42 PM »
Well, I started with the first post...

My blog has mostly benefited me in terms of finishing projects.  I tend to be the "90% done... oooh, new shiny!" kind of person, and blog posts of finished projects helps cure me of that.  I've met a few interesting people as a result, and have a corpus of "Hey, I know what I'm doing in a range of areas..." material out there, plus... oh, beer money, ish.  I average about $40/mo, which is pennies an hour for the work that goes into it, but I learn new and interesting things.

My plan?  "Post about things I was working on or found interesting."  So far, so good!

But, in general, starting a blog with high expectations leads to disappointment.

Zikoris

• Magnum Stache
  • Vancouverstachian
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2018, 08:35:34 PM »
I blog, but only for fun, and I don't make any money off of it. I started it in 2013 to chronicle our journey to retirement. It's mostly numbers and pictures. And labyrinths. Sometimes journalists stumble across is when they're doing a piece about frugality or retirement or other financial topics and contact us for quotes or interviews - once the local tv station came grocery shopping with us and followed us around in the store with a hidden camera, which was funny.