Author Topic: Any AT thru-hikers here?  (Read 5000 times)

RMD

• Stubble
Any AT thru-hikers here?
« on: July 14, 2014, 09:17:28 AM »
I'm new to hiking and want to thru-hike the AT *someday*.  (Looking at 5-6 years or so...)

Talk to me about your gear...what can you do for cheap and what do you need to spend the $$ on?  How much did it cost you from Springer to Katahdin?  What would you do differently? What books helped you the most?

MgoSam

• Magnum Stache
Re: Any AT thru-hikers here?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 09:25:51 AM »
I would also be interested in this as well. This is a goal of mine once I retire.

RMD

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2014, 09:33:13 AM »
I would also be interested in this as well. This is a goal of mine once I retire.

Feel free to add your questions if we find someone...thru-hiking the AT just seems like a fairly Mustachian thing to do, I think. :)

shadowmoss

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2014, 10:18:41 AM »
http://trailjournals.com/
This is the day to day journals of hikers while they hike the AT, and a few other long trails.

http://whiteblaze.net/forum/content.php
a forum, kinda like this one, supposedly centered on the AT.  Lots of drama, over moderation, and I have personal issues with some of the way the owner handles things.  However, a question will get honest answers (usually)

https://hammockforums.net/forum/content.php
Owned by the same person, a lot of over moderation and drama.  However, it is the best site for info on hiking using a hammock rather than a tent.  I personally use a hammock.  Lots of info on do it yourself gear, and cottage industries making innovative gear for the trail.

On the last two, you have been warned.  Lots of excellent info, lots of politics (of the site, not international politics).