Author Topic: Battling lifestyle inflation in first grown-up job...in NYC  (Read 10574 times)

kh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi, long-time lurker here.  I'm 27, and started my first real job about 9 months ago.  I graduated with my Ph.D. in December - hence the late start.

So, I made an atrociously non-Mustachian decision: I moved to Manhattan.  Immediately, lifestyle creep has begun to, you know, creep in.  Like it does.  I feel like I worried about money way less as a grad student making $20k/yr than I do now.  My salary now is about $120k, but a bit chunk of that comes in bonuses and things, so let's just work off of my base salary of $91,200/yr

The good:
I don't own a car.  I live in a studio, so utilities are low.  No cable.  Student loans just got paid off.  No debt of any kind.  A little over $100k in savings in various places - 401k, Roth IRA, stocks, savings accounts.  Bonuses, about a quarter or so of my salary, go straight to savings.

The bad:
The job is an hour-long commute, although the fact that it's on a train means I take it as personal improvement time.  Project Gutenberg is the best, if you like pre-copyright literature, which I do.
Cell phone: $78/mo

The ugly:
Rent: $2495/mo
Food: $900/mo.  Holy. Shit.  Generally $600 for restaurants, $200 for groceries, $100 for bars.  2 people.

The whole breakdown
Income:
Net take-home pay/mo: $4038
This is after taxes (ouch) and pre-tax witholdings ($245/mo for public transit, $420/mo for 401k contribution, insurance).

Expenses, from Mint from the last 6 months, so I don't get to lie to myself:
Rent - $2495
Food - $900 ($600 restaurants, $200 groceries, $100 bars) - two people
Clothes - $150 (This is from several months ago - I just replaced my entire wardrobe, since every article of clothing I owned in grad school had holes eaten in it courtesy of the acid I used in my lab.  Not especially professional-looking, but now it's been several months since I've bought so much as socks.)