Author Topic: Applied Math jobs?  (Read 2376 times)

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Applied Math jobs?
« on: February 08, 2019, 09:00:15 PM »
Hello,
I'm thinking about careers in math. I have a master's degree in accounting and I was a federal auditor for ten years. I was disappointed there wasn't more math in my jobs. The most I had to do was multiplication.
I was bored and if I have to work I need to do something where my brain is engaged. I'm working with a wonderful math tutor who is helping me relearn math and plug any holes in my knowledge.
I plan on doing informational interviews but I would like to ask my stupid questions here first. When I look at job databases it's just a job title and a blurb if I'm lucky. I haven't found resources that talk about day to day activities. So if anybody has an applied math job I would like to hear about it.

About me:
I live in Maryland
I'm a hippie so I would really prefer to not design weapons
I'm interested in real life problems so improving an algorithm for Linked In doesn't interest me.
I am prone to making careless mistakes (for complicated reasons that I can go into if you are really interested). So making life or death decisions would be a bad idea (the job air traffic controller comes to mind)
A job I have heard of that sounds interesting is doing statistics in a health care setting.
I'm not interested in IT, academia, pharmaceuticals or finance.
Thoughts? Ideas? Does anybody do math related work without a degree in math?

Goldielocks

• Walrus Stache
Re: Applied Math jobs?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2019, 11:59:50 PM »
Industrial engineering.   I did lots of statistical related math, a lot of "collect observational data to create baseline".  Change something. " Collect observational data on new scenario."   Do the statistics /math to creat a model of how labour is spent (or profist made, or utilities generated, per unit of X).