Author Topic: Anyone Familiar With Vanguard IRA Account?  (Read 8405 times)

shade13

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Anyone Familiar With Vanguard IRA Account?
« on: August 27, 2014, 03:31:07 PM »
So I took your advice and opened an IRA account with Vanguard.  I'm still very new to it and I have stumbled across something that has left me puzzled.

I know it's probably a really stupid question with a simple answer but I'm not sure so I was hoping someone here could help me out.

I opened up a Vanguard LifeStrategy Moderate Growth Fund which is 60% stock and 40% bonds.

I'm wanting it changed to 69% stock and 31% bonds.  And it has the option to change it to that. 

But when I do it, it still has my "Current allocation at 60/40" and has a separate section that says "Target Allocation 69/31"

Now my question is, will this change over in time to 69/31?  Or do I need to change my selection to something else?

Sorry if this is a stupid or confusing question, but I'm still very new to this.

Sorry if this was meant for another board as well.

Shor

• Bristles
Re: Anyone Familiar With Vanguard IRA Account?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 04:11:55 PM »
Right, I think what you did there is the target allocation is for any new money depositing in to the account. It doesn't affect your existing holdings.

To fix it the way you want, please try the following:
From the top -> My Accounts -> Balance and Holdings
This should take you to a screen listing all of your current holdings at the 60 stock / 40 bond mix.
To the right of each item in this list you should have a Buy | Sell | Exch link
You will want to Exchange the Bonds fund for your selected Stock fund. This should let you sell a percentage of the bonds, whatever 9 / 40 comes out to, and purchase with it the desired stock fund.

Let us know if that does it for you.

shade13

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 04:53:04 PM »