Author Topic: Any successful career change stories?  (Read 8064 times)

FIPurpose

• Handlebar Stache
    • FI With Purpose
Any successful career change stories?
« on: May 12, 2018, 12:29:35 PM »
Well in my current work as a Software Engineer, I think I can be solidly FI within the next 5 years. While I don't mind the work, I don't have a big passion for it. It kind of feels like doing the Sunday crossword everyday. Where no individual task is difficult, but doing it for 40 hours kind of bores/ tires me out.

So if I stay with the career I'm on for the next 5 years, I can't see myself sticking to it. Something MMM and the forums here talk about a lot is to work a job that you would do for free. Does that really exist? Is there really any work that people would do for free? Would I just stop enjoying any work for 40 hours per week?

I want to have a career that I would enjoy a bit more. While I enjoy certain parts about working in an office, overall it just feels sterile.

Anyway, I want to know if anyone here has any success in changing careers. How long did it take to switch? Did you really end up liking your second job more?

Second careers I've thought about:
Nursing
Working for the Forest Service
Running for Office

AnnaGrowsAMustache

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Any successful career change stories?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2018, 03:44:57 PM »
In my time I've been a chef, business owner, graphic artist, lecturer at a university, hospital administrator and hospital practice manager. I've taken up study to deliberately change careers, which never quite worked out, and I've moved sideways whenever the opportunity arose. I don't have the faintest idea how people stay in one job for their entire lives. Sounds boring, and there's nothing more tiring, demoralising and just plain sad than being bored.

ElleFiji

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2018, 04:07:39 PM »