Author Topic: 457 vs Vanguard  (Read 2017 times)

put me in coach

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
457 vs Vanguard
« on: September 10, 2018, 06:57:29 PM »
Hello!

I'm fairly new at Mustachianism and even newer to investing (or less learned), so please help me out in layman's terms if you can lend me that kind of time and patience. :D

I work for a public (government) agency. I get paid about 90k in HCOL area (Bay Area, CA). SO makes ~65k. We are in our mid-30s.

Earlier this year, finally opened opened a 457 with Nationwide (.6% annual fee) and $200 contributions every couple weeks. I'm looking into being more aggressive at this, especially now with a recent step increase (raise).

I also have a pension (not as great as they used to be) that's auto-deducted, with no employee match, and in which i won't be fully vested for another 27 months.

My SO contributes ~$210 to a 401k with Fidelity every couple weeks. (I'm not sure what her fees are for this. I know Fidelity now has some very low-fee options. I am having SO look into it.)

I know we should be investing more. With my step increase and with us wanting to be more aggressive anyhow, please help:

Please help me rank in priority order:

1. 457 to tax benefit max
2. 457 beyond tax benefit max
3. Vanguard IRA or other to tax benefit max.
4. Vanguard IRA or other beyond tax benefit max.
4. SO's 401k to tax benefit max.
5. SO's 401k beyond tax benefit max.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: 457 vs Vanguard
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2018, 08:43:06 PM »
this should put you on the right track re: investment order
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/investment-order/msg1333153/#msg1333153

for basic info on investing, i highly recommend jlcoillins
https://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/

start with those and come back as you have questions
~n~

rubybeth

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2018, 08:20:03 AM »