Author Topic: 40k from home? Please? Somebody?  (Read 12767 times)

theSchmett

• Stubble
40k from home? Please? Somebody?
« on: November 12, 2014, 02:30:24 PM »
I'm super tired of the commuting grind. My job is a good one with great people, its frustrating but that's work... right? But I want to spend time at home with the kids, I wouldn't mind working some night hours... and I want time to work on personal and potentially profitable projects (my PPPPs).

I would trade the very steady job for a $45k, work from home situation.

I've got a masters degree (City and Regional Planning), I'm good with people, and I'm good with computers. I'm not a programmer or engineer like half of the crowd here seems to be (wish I was.

What can I do for a stable income? I was just on an Amazon chat and I'm all like - I can do that! Although I doubt they are making $45k/year in a stable situation.

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
Re: 40k from home? Please? Somebody?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 02:41:07 PM »
Is your job telecommute friendly? Could you only go in 2, 3, 4 days a week? Alternately, can you move closer to work?

True stay-at-home jobs that pay well are pretty rare unless you've got your own gig or have enough seniority/importance that you can make demands about telecommuting. So making yourself indispensable and then creating the situation you want is another approach.

-W

Bob W

• Magnum Stache
  • Live on minimum wage, earn on maximum
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2014, 03:01:17 PM »
Not much details in the post?   

With a degree like that you would be in demand in many a Midwestern city for more that 50K.   50K here = 100K there.  (New Jersey)