Author Topic: Dec 2015: 57 y/o need input on plans (long) UPDATES: AUG '18/NOV '18/MAY'19  (Read 13479 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Wow, that is a lot of difficult things.

I hope you are holding up okay, with having to support everyone around you like that.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

GreenToTheCore

• Bristles
You're doing a fantastic job. I second ARS.
*internet hug*

sonya

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Thank you, I just take a deep breath and do what needs to be done. I'll get there eventually.

I don't really have much family, but I do have very good friends who hear me out and support me all the way, even when they disagree. And that's a good friend.

sonya

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Time for an update: I sat everyone down a few weeks ago and had a serious talk. I told them I'm broke supporting two households, and we need to sell the house, husband can go live with his brother (see above why this is such a good idea), and son can live with me and his sister in apartment.

Kids were completely supportive, husband not so much. I understand, he has been blindsided, and it's his life that will be affected the most. He did come around, though, about selling, apologizing for being unsupportive initially. He has been cleaning up/touching up and working on the yard, etc, doing what he can. I am working on my husband to agree for me to make a phone call to ask family for help, and let him live with his brother and his wife. I don't mind making this very difficult phone call, because I have to take charge before the bottom drops out. There's no room for argument here, it needs to be done.