Author Topic: Wealthsimple Money Diaries - Debt: A Love Story  (Read 2931 times)

SolarCat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Wealthsimple Money Diaries - Debt: A Love Story
« on: December 25, 2018, 10:49:00 AM »
LOOK AT THIS.
This is my favourite article in a long time about spiralling debt and "wtf is going on with these people" in a long time:

Excerpt from part of the beginning, empahses mine:
Kate: I’m Kate. I’m 46. I have a law degree. I don’t practice law though. When I got pregnant with our first, I took the highest-paying job I could find that still allowed me to stay home and be close to my kids when they were growing up. So I work for an insurance company, paying claims. I make about $70,000 a year. We live in the suburbs of a city in the northeast of the U.S. We have three kids: ages 11, 14, and 18.

Tom: My name is Tom. I have a graduate degree in advertising. I’m 48 and I’m an insurance claims manager. I earn about $90,000 a year doing that, but I also work a second job as a bartender a couple times a week catering in private homes. I make between $100 and $250 a night doing that.

[...]

Tom: We bought our first house in 1997 for $195,000. It was fine, but then we tried to go big on the house we live in now. We bought a house that we probably couldn’t afford.

Kate: Our first house was perfectly fine, but I was pregnant with our third child, and we had three bedrooms in that house and wanted a fourth. And that house didn’t have a garage or a yard.

Tom: We built the house we’re in now in 2007. It’s a great house. But I knew from the beginning it was a stretch. It was the freewheeling times, and so they would do anything to get you into a house. They gave us a second mortgage that I’m paying right along with the original mortgage. We’ve refinanced the first mortgage a little bit, but we can never refinance it all together into one because it’s way too much. The house cost $360,000, and we have mortgages for just about $360,000.