Author Topic: They forgot to cancel autopay, now Comcast Owes them $5800!  (Read 10156 times)

Stashaholic

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
They forgot to cancel autopay, now Comcast Owes them $5800!
« on: December 10, 2015, 01:30:05 PM »
It's crazy that the lady didn't notice this long enough to have overpaid $5800 in cable bills, wow!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/christopher-elliott/hey-comcast-wheres-my-mis_b_8771398.html?ncid=txtlnkusaolp00000592

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: They forgot to cancel autopay, now Comcast Owes them $5800!
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2015, 02:43:02 PM »
Even at a monthly cable bill of $200, that's over two years of payments!

Crazy.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

johnny847

• Magnum Stache
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2015, 02:44:58 PM »
How in hell do you not realize you're missing $5800????

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2015, 02:47:30 PM »
If you're used to wasting thousands a month on other shit, it's plausible.

Dollar Slice

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2015, 05:37:09 PM »
When I canceled Comcast, I was freaking out the first month when they "forgot" to stop the autopay! They sent statements showing that I owed them a negative amount of money and continued to add to their debt to me every month until I finally convinced them to knock it off and refund it to me.

I suspect they frequently "forget" to stop autopay, and who knows how often it doesn't get noticed. What a scam.

MsPeacock

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2015, 06:01:13 PM »