Author Topic: Overheard on Facebook  (Read 2110189 times)

MilwaukeeStubble

• Stubble
Re: Overheard on Facebook
« Reply #1600 on: February 12, 2015, 07:37:37 AM »
I saved $12,000 in my first 4 months of work at age 19

Whoa - How did you earn so much money at age 19?

I was a software developer, and a severely underpaid one due to a lack of negotiation skills and general cluelessness about free market economics. Luckily I've improved at that stuff in the intervening years.

I'm missing something here...

Melchior

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #1601 on: February 12, 2015, 08:39:03 AM »

I was a software developer, and a severely underpaid one due to a lack of negotiation skills and general cluelessness about free market economics. Luckily I've improved at that stuff in the intervening years.

Simple, Cathy is saying that I'm an incredibly super extremely underpaid software developer.

Aushin

• Stubble
« Reply #1602 on: February 12, 2015, 09:05:07 AM »
Yeah we're all a bit self-righteous but I think there's a difference between "They had SIX kids?  Jesus Christ!!" and "Why didn't you save 40 thousand dollars when you were 19 it's so easy"

Cathy's a LOT closer to Mitt Romney telling kids to ask their parents for a loan to start a business.  Very out of touch.  At least some degree of self-delusion to believe that's an every day possibility.

RWD

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #1603 on: February 12, 2015, 09:56:33 AM »

Simple, Cathy is saying that I'm an incredibly super extremely underpaid software developer.

At age 19 I was making $8/hour as a software developer, which was less than a dollar over minimum wage in my state at the time. And because I was still in college I was only able to work full time over the summer. A couple years later I was able to get some better paying internships, but even then saving up $12k in 4 months would have been virtually impossible.

trailrated

• Handlebar Stache
  • a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor