Author Topic: Overheard at Work  (Read 13253321 times)

CommonCents

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Overheard at Work
« Reply #1450 on: January 14, 2014, 12:31:48 PM »
Last week a coworker rolled up in a 2014 Toyota Highlander. Male, Single, 32, no kids, lives in one bedroom apartment in a small city and drives 40 minutes to work (30 mile drive).

Kinda curious why he bought that, so I broached the subject gently (he's kinda sensitive)... "I've been driving around a rust bucket for the last ten years, I just wanted something new."

Alright, to each their own.

He still drives the rust bucket on days it's supposed to snow/storm.

My sister & BIL did this (well, last year, 2013 model).  They both work from home.  Their other car is an SUV of some kind.  One child.  And they complain about money at times.  Their monthly grocery bill used to be more than our housing, including utilities and condo fee.

A coworker of mine decided to tally up his monthly spending in regards to eating out at work. He'd buy lunch every day of the work week, often get coffee after that and then on weekends he might have gone out to eat some too. He totaled out to a horrific $6500/year on eating out all the time. So he is now packing. But this is where it gets even more crazy...

He brought it up to another coworker and said, "Yeah, I'm packing all the time now to save money."

The other guy said, "Now you have to buy your own groceries, so between going to the store and buying food you're not really doing anything better."

WHAT?!?!?! I thought he was joking. He was not. That guy still buys every day of his life. Poor him (literally).

Were you talking to my husband?  He believes takeout is better because: you don't need to spend time grocery shopping, cooking or cleaning, and it costs just about the same to him.  I've done the math for him on specific meals he likes and he still finds it not worthwhile.

Albert

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #1451 on: January 14, 2014, 12:34:59 PM »