Author Topic: Overheard at Work  (Read 13253100 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Overheard at Work
« Reply #11800 on: January 16, 2016, 03:11:09 PM »
To be fair, it's generally a good idea as a moderator to always check the context for any report you get.

I've... seen a lot of very one sided moderation reports in my years as a moderator (not here) ;-)  The "report to moderators" functionality can be a pretty effective tool if moderators do not check context.

We do look at context.  Have no fear on that count.

(Side note though: context does not equate to "someone else was rude, so I'm being rude back.")

And we also rarely (almost never?) straight out delete posts, or edit them to remove content.  We use the strikethrough, so the words are still there.  Not censored, just made clear they aren't appropriate.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #11801 on: January 16, 2016, 04:49:10 PM »
To be fair, it's generally a good idea as a moderator to always check the context for any report you get.

I've... seen a lot of very one sided moderation reports in my years as a moderator (not here) ;-)  The "report to moderators" functionality can be a pretty effective tool if moderators do not check context.

(Side note though: context does not equate to "someone else was rude, so I'm being rude back.")

And we also rarely (almost never?) straight out delete posts, or edit them to remove content.  We use the strikethrough, so the words are still there.  Not censored, just made clear they aren't appropriate.

I never learned to read strikethrough :-(

arebelspy

• Administrator