Author Topic: 36 financial horror stories  (Read 11455 times)

guccigrace

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Full time job, debt free, MM newbie
36 financial horror stories
« on: February 01, 2018, 05:30:07 AM »
Saw this on my buzzfeed today. Glad everyone here seems to realize the error of their ways! Read and learn people.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/venessawong/36-terrifying-financial-horror-stories?utm_term=.jgqPVgME0J#.kqQ1KzDVYx

Xx

carolinap

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: 36 financial horror stories
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2018, 07:34:54 AM »
A lot of good examples, of people learning from their mistakes but... number 25...

"Opening up two credit cards as soon as I turned 18. I didn't know anything about credit cards. I didn't know you had to pay them back right away. I was a college freshman. They didn't teach me all of that in high school. I maxed them both out in the span of six months and didn't make payments for like three years because I didn't know I had to."

HOOOWWWW SOMEONE CAN ASSUME BANKS GIVE FREE MONEYYYYYY

carolinap

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2018, 09:16:51 AM »
For that matter; how can the banks like the account get to that point?

I just assumed when the author said "didn't make payments for like three years because I didn't know I had to" he meant "I didn't open mail from the bank or took seriously their contacts to tell me to pay it"

kina

• Pencil Stache
  • sea urchin currency
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2018, 12:06:14 PM »
A lot of good examples, of people learning from their mistakes but... number 25...

"Opening up two credit cards as soon as I turned 18. I didn't know anything about credit cards. I didn't know you had to pay them back right away. I was a college freshman. They didn't teach me all of that in high school. I maxed them both out in the span of six months and didn't make payments for like three years because I didn't know I had to."

How does someone that stupid get admitted to college?

Travis

• Magnum Stache